Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

breadcrumbs: Extracurricular: breadcrumbs: Academic U.I.L.


Ajax Loading Image


UIL High School Academic District Competition

By Forbus, Kem

April 02, 2017

A Competition of the Mind


Twenty-four Newcastle High School students traveled to Bryson High School on March 22 to compete in the district academic competition. Individual students competed in math, science, history, English, speech, journalism, computer and writing events.


Schools competing on March 22 included Newcastle, Bryson, Graford, Woodson, Throckmorton, and Paint Creek.


Placing second overall, many of the contestants brought home medals, and twelve students earned a trip to the regional competition.


Those who placed third or better or were on a first place team advance to the regional competition which will be held at Keller High School on April 8, 2017.


Individual Awards:

Holly Manos: 5th News Writing

Richard Chapla: 4th Informative Speaking, 3rd LD Debate

Elizabeth Lowrance: 3rd Ready Writing, 3rd Literary Criticism

Gage Bozeman: 2nd Calculator Applications (tie), 3rd Number Sense, 5th Persuasive Speaking, 4th Computer Applications, 2nd Math, 6th Social Studies

Gracie Payne: 1st Calculator Applications, 6th Math (3 way tie)

Emma Ray: 4th Calculator Applications, 1st Informative Speaking, 4th Math (tie)

KC Shields: 2nd Persuasive Speaking, 1st LD Debate, 4th Math (tie)

Gracie Carr: 4th Ready Writing, 4th Literary Criticism

Arryn Eli: 3rd Prose, 2nd Informative Speaking, 2nd Computer Applications, 4th Social Studies(tie)

Kelsey Shields: 2nd Calculator Applications (tie), 1st Persuasive Speaking, 3rd Computer Applications

Alana Holland: 6th Prose, 1st Headline Writing

Preslee McBride: 1st News Writing, 6th Headline Writing

Lynsey Jones: 4th Headline Writing, 3rd Editorial Writing

KC Morgan: 6th Feature Writing

Victoria Richards: 2nd Feature Writing

Bryanna Nickel: 5th Literary Criticism


Team Awards:

1st Team Calculator Applications

1st Team Speech (combination of all speaking events)

2nd Team Number Sense

2nd Team Math

2nd Team Literary Criticism

2nd Team Journalism (combination of all journalistic writing events)


Other individuals competing:

JR Gossett

Kalysta Kee

Maria Marana

Kiley Mays

Boomer Whitaker

Ethan Lyons

Keelie Blassingame


Event coaches this year are Courtney Bozeman, Sherri Blassingame, Meghan Clark, Christy Eli, and Kem Forbus.



Back To Top